CrossFit and Swimming - Does that fit together? - CrossFit Four Horsemen

CrossFit and Swimming – Does that fit together?

Why do we offer swimming besides CrossFit?

Since May 2018, we have been offering swimming once a week besides the CrossFit WODs and weightlifting. Why that, one or the other may wonder. Does that fit with CrossFit at all? What are the advantages and disadvantages to do swimming units in addition to the WOD? What are the common features of CrossFit and swimming?

CrossFit and Swimming

CrossFit stands for highly intense, functional training that is constantly varied. Swimming can be a variation in the daily training routine and is also a high-intensity and functional training. The CrossFit philosophy also encourages you to try new sports every now and than. True to the motto: Dare! Something new every day!

It is also important to us that everyone is able to stay afloat swimming. Swimming is not a popular sport, but in rare cases ist can be vital. A good swimming technique enables you to swim longer and more efficiently with less energy. 

Our offered training is aimed at improving the technique of all kinds of swimming (breaststroke, front crawl, back stroke as well as butterfly) and contributes to better fitness. There is no problem if you can not do all the stroke styles yet or think of yourself that you can not swim “properly” at all. You never stop learning! Experience how to become more efficient and faster through a better swimming technique. 

 

Similarities of CrossFit and Swimming

Even if the swimming training takes place in the water, CrossFit and swimming have a lot in common: 

  • Holistic training / different muscle groups are stimulated simultaneously 
  • Focus on the core stability (it is fundamentally important in both sports!)
  • The training units within a training lesson take up to 10 minutes or longer
  • There are precise time limits and a similar amount of abbreviations. 
  • High intensity
  • The movements to be performed are often complicated and the technique is extremely important. 
  • The training structure is similar: There is always a warm-up, a technique and strength and/or strength endurance part as well as a “workout”

Swimmers are used to an environment in which gravity is half-lacking. Therefore, their joints and muscles are not so “well-prepared” for dry land. Conversely, for CrossFitters the water resistance and/or the “feedback” of a movement is missing. However, the more regularly you go swimming, the better the so called “water-feeling” and the position in the water becomes. The latter is crucial for efficient swimming in every style. 

 

Advantages and prejudice of swim training in addition to CrossFit 

Advantages of swim training

  • You build up your general fitness 
    By training in the water, you have to move permanently. Even if you feel lighter in the water and movements also feel easier, you will almost continuously for 60 minutes when you come to our swim WOD. In addition to that, you develop your lunge capacity thru the different breathing techniques. 
  • Holistic muscle building
    You can only swim well if you use your entire body. Through the movement, you definitely build up muscles holistically and yet spare your joints. Of course, this does not replace strength training with weights, but it is a well-balanced load for all muscle parts. 
  • Swimming improves your posture
    In addition to the already mentioned holistic muscle build up, swimming requires you to stretch properly. Especially when front crawling, this is an important component – crucial for propulsion. Professional swimmers are often recognized by their broad shoulders and their usually very upright posture.
  • The cardiovascular system is stimulated
    The difference in temperature in the water stimulates your metabolism. When you swim, you also burn a lot of calories.

Prejudices against the swim training 

  • Low intensity? 
    Depending on the training plan, the training intensity may be lower than in other sports – But be sure that this is not the case with us. Even after the swim training, you will notice the workout on your body. 
  • Costs?
    Unfortunately, we can not pay for the swimming pool entrance fees. We recommend you to buy a 10-time punch card at the Stuttgarter Schwimmbädern if you want to participate regulär in the swimming WOD. In the summer, the training takes place in the Freibad Möhringen (outdoor pool). During the winter times, we will meet at the Stuttgarter Hallenbad in Sonnenberg (indoor pool). The single entry fee for all Stuttgart swimming pools is 4,50€.
  • Sophisticated technique?
    As in weightlifting, the technique is also decisive for a top performance in swimming. It takes some countless lanes and a lot of time to learn the technique at swimming.  Be aware o that, internalize it and do not become impatient! The progress will definitely come. It is just great to experience how easy it is to glide thru the water and increase the distance, meter by meter, within one training unit. 
  • Monotony?
    Mony consider swimming to be boring tile counting – we will prove the contrary to you. Here, too, it very much depends on the training planning as well as the groups. Varied training design makes you forget the tile counting. 

Have we made you curious? Would you like to drop in and train with us? WE are looking forward to seeing you and welcoming you at our gym. Should you have any further questions, just write us. 





[/GDC_row

CrossFit und Schwimmen - Passt das? - CrossFit Four Horsemen

CrossFit und Schwimmen – Passt das?

Warum bieten wir neben CrossFit auch Schwimmen an?

Bereits seit Mai 2018 bieten wir neben den CrossFit WODs und Gewichtheben ein Mal pro Woche Schwimmtraining an. Warum fragt sich der ein oder andere vielleicht. Passt das überhaupt zu CrossFit? Welche Vorteile oder Nachteile kann es haben zusätzlich zum WOD auch Schwimmeinheiten zu absolvieren? Gibt es im CrossFit und Schwimmen Gemeinsamkeiten?

CrossFit und Schwimmen

CrossFit steht für ein konstant variierendes, hoch-intensives und funktionelles Training. Schwimmen kann im CrossFit Trainingsalltag für eine Variation stehen und ist dabei ebenfalls ein hochintensives und funktionelles Training. Die CrossFit Philosophie regt außerdem dazu an, immer wieder mal neue Sportarten auszuprobieren. Ganz nach dem Motto: Jeden Tag etwas Neues – Trau Dich!

Uns ist es außerdem ein Anliegen, dass jeder in der Lage ist, sich über Wasser zu halten. Schwimmen ist kein populärer Sport, aber kann in seltenen Fällen auch überlebenswichtig sein. Eine gute Schwimmtechnik ermöglicht es Dir, mit weniger Energieeinsatz länger und effizienter zu schwimmen.

Unser angebotenes Schwimmtraining zielt auf die Verbesserung der Schwimmtechnik aller Schwimmarten ab (Brust-, Kraul und Rückenschwimmen sowie Delfin) und trägt zur besseren Kondition bei. Es ist kein Problem, wenn Du noch nicht alle Stilarten kannst oder von Dir selbst denkst, dass Du überhaupt nicht „richtig Schwimmen“ kannst. Man lernt nie aus! Erfahre, wie Du durch bessere Schwimmtechnik effizienter und schneller wirst.

 

Gemeinsamkeiten von CrossFit und Schwimmen

Auch wenn das Schwimmtraining im Wasser stattfindet, haben CrossFit und Schwimmen sehr viele Gemeinsamkeiten:

  • Ganzheitliches Training / Verschiedene Muskelgruppen werden gleichzeitig stimuliert
  • Fokus auf der Rumpfstabilität (Bei beidem elementar wichtig!)
  • Die Trainingseinheiten innerhalb einer Trainingsstunde dauern bis zu 10 Minuten oder länger
  • Es gibt genaue zeitliche Vorgaben und ähnlich viele Abkürzungen 
  • Hohe Intensität
  • Die durchzuführenden Bewegungen sind oft kompliziert und die Technik extrem wichtig
  • Der Trainingsaufbau ist ähnlich: Es gibt immer ein Warm up, einen Technik und Kraft- bzw. Kraftausdauer Teil sowie ein „Workout“

Schwimmer sind eine Umgebung gewohnt, in der die Schwerkraft halb fehlt und die Gelenke und Muskeln daher nicht so gut auf trockenes Land „eingestellt“ sind. CrossFittern fehlt umgekehrt öfters der Widerstand im Wasser bzw. die „Rückmeldung“ einer Bewegung. Je regelmäßiger man jedoch schwimmen geht, desto besser wird das sogenannte „Wassergefühl“ und auch die Wasserlage. Letzteres ist entscheidend für ein effizientes Schwimmen in jeder Stilart.

 

Vorteile und Vorurteil des Schwimmtrainings zusätzlich zum CrossFit

Vorteile des Schwimmtrainings

  • Du baust Deine Kondition erheblich aus
    Durch das Training im Wasser musst Du Dich permanent bewegen. Auch wenn Du im Wasser leichter bist und die Bewegungen sich entsprechend auch leichter anfühlen, bewegst Du Dich fast 60 Minuten durchgehend, wenn Du in unser Schwimm-WOD kommst. Außerdem baust Du Deine Lungenkapazität durch die unterschiedlichen Atemtechniken aus.
  • Ganzheitlicher Muskelaufbau
    Du kannst nur gut Schwimmen, wenn Du Deinen gesamten Körper einsetzt. Durch die Bewegung baust Du wirklich ganzheitlich Muskeln auf und schonst dabei noch Deine Gelenke. Natürlich ersetzt das kein Krafttraining, aber es ist eine ausgegliche Belastung für alle Muskelpartien.
  • Schwimmen verbessert Deine Haltung
    Neben dem bereits erwähnten ganzheitlichen Muskelaufbau, fordert das Schwimmen von Dir, dass du dich richtig streckst. Besonders beim Kraulen eine Komponente, die entscheidend für den Vortrieb ist. Professionelle Schwimmer erkennt man oft an den breiten Schultern und der meist sehr aufrechten Haltung.
  • Das Herz-Kreislaufsystem wird angeregt
    Durch den Temperaturunterschied im Wasser wird der Stoffwechsel angekurbelt. Wer schwimmt, verbrennt außerdem viele Kalorien.

Vorurteile gegen das Schwimmtraining

  • Geringe Intensität?
    Ja nach Trainingsplanung kann es sein, dass die Intensität im Training geringer ausfällt als bei anderen Sportarten. Sei Dir aber sicher, dass dies bei uns nicht der Fall ist. Auch nach dem Schwimmen wirst Du Deine Trainingseinheit am Körper merken.
  • Kosten?
    Leider können wir die Kosten für den Schwimmbadeintritt nicht übernehmen. Wir empfehlen Dir eine 10er Karte bei den Stuttgarter Schwimmbädern zu besorgen, wenn Du regelmäßig ins Schwimm-WOD kommen möchtest. Im Sommer findet das Training im Freibad Möhringen statt. Während der Winterzeit trainieren wir im Hallenbad in Sonnenberg. Der Einzeleintritt beträgt bei allen Stuttgarter Schwimmbädern einheitlich 4,50€.
  • Anspruchsvolle Technik?
    Ähnlich wie im Gewichtheben, ist auch im Schwimmen die Technik entscheidend für eine Bestleistung. Das Erlernen der Technik braucht Zeit und einige unzählige Bahnen. Stelle Dich bewusst darauf ein und werde nicht ungeduldig – Der Fortschritt wird auf jeden Fall kommen. Es ist etwas Tolles, wenn man feststellt, wie „leicht“ man durch das Wasser gleiten kann und die Meter innerhalb einer Trainingseinheit steigen.
  • Monotonie?
    Viele halten Schwimmen für langweiliges Kachelzählen. Wir werden Dir das Gegenteil beweisen. Auch hier kommt es nämlich auf die Trainingsplanung und -gruppe an. Abwechslungsreiche Trainingsgestaltung lässt euch das Kachelzählen vergessen.

Ist Dein Interesse am Schwimmtraining geweckt? Möchtest Du vorbeischauen und mit trainieren? Wir freuen uns! Schreibe uns einfach, wenn Du weitere Fragen hast.